Release date: March 8, 2024


Chris Rottmayer

Russ Johnson
Rufus Reid
Matt Endres

BEING is pianist Chris Rottmayer’s fourth album. It’s a collection of original music, written as part of a study of pianist Mulgrew Miller and his recordings with the Woody Shaw Quintet. Joining him on this album are Russ Johnson on trumpet and flugelhorn, Matt Endres on drums, and jazz master Rufus Reid on acoustic bass. The skillful compositions and virtuosic performances on BEING weave an exotic and mysterious tapestry that explores Miller and Shaw’s harmonic and modal concepts.